Fifth Congress
Brussels – 6 December 2012


The EDP held its Congress on December 6 2012 at the European Parliament in Brussels. In addition to the interventions of delegates, Congress listened carefully to the interventions of Guy Verhofstadt, former Belgian Prime Minister and President of the ALDE Group in the European Parliament (read the report), Michel Barnier, European Commissioner for the Internal Market (read the report), and Mahmoud Salem, Egyptian blogger, witness the events through which his country. A video message from Mario Monti, Italian Prime Minister, has also been broadcast (see the message).

The Congress passed the nine reports of the working groups, as the result of two years of work. Focused on issues of EU relations with developing countries, global governance and the fight against poverty, these reports are available here.

The leading authorities were renewed as follows:


  • François Bayrou
  • Francesco Rutelli


  • Lenka Halamova
  • Marian Harkin
  • Nicos Koutsou
  • Andrzej Potocki
  • Iñigo Urkullu

Secretary-General: Marielle de Sarnez

Deputy Secretaries-Generals:

  • Luigi Cocilovo
  • José Félix Merladet
  • Michael Loucas

Treasurer: Jean-Marie Beaupuy

Delegate-General: Gérard Deprez

Representatives of national delegations to the European Parliamen:

  • Izaskun Bilbao Barandica
  • Marian Harkin
  • Sergej Kozlik
  • Mario Pirillo

All the pictures taken during this event can be seen on Flickr.